June Christy With The Lou Levy Sextet – Impromptu

enero 30, 2008 at 2:13 pm (June Christy)

Y este aporte es de nuestro amigo David. Gracias David!!

” After a long series of recordings for Capitol during 1952-65, June Christy
gradually retired from singing. She only returned to the studios once, for
this Discovery LP. Assisted by the Lou Levy sextet (which consisted of the
leader-pianist, trumpeter Jack Sheldon, trombonist Frank Rosolino, tenorman
Bob Cooper, bassist Bob Daugherty and drummer Shelly Manne), Christy
avoided revisiting her hits and instead mixed in some newer material (such
as “Once Upon a Summertime,” “Everything Must Change” and “Sometime Ago”)
with a few older standards. A little rusty during this final effort, June
Christy’s sincerity and swing will win over listeners. ~ Scott Yanow, All
Music Guide”

01 – My Shining Hour
02 – Once Upon A Summertime
03 – Show Me
04 – Everything Must Change
05 – Willow Weep For Me
06 – I’ll Remember April
07 – The Trouble With Hello Is Goodbye
08 – Autumn Serenade
09 – Sometime Ago
10 – Angel Eyes


Permalink Dejar un comentario