Timi Yuro – Unreleased Live Tracks (1980 – 1983)

diciembre 29, 2008 at 12:41 pm (Oldies, Timi Yuro)

Y acá hay otro lindo aporte de David. Thanks David!

TIMI YURO (1940 – 2004)

Dinah Washington once said of her, “Timi’s voice doesn’t come from the throat, but from the heart. She doesn’t just sing the song, she lives it.”

“Timi Yuro was among the most powerful and emotional singers of the 1960s. Her passion and commitment did not fall far short of Aretha Franklin’s. She was born Rosemarie Timotea Aurro into an Italian-American family in Chicago in 1940, and her mother encouraged her to sing. The family moved to Los Angeles in 1952 where Frankie Laine’s vocal coach was so impressed that she gave Timi free training. By the time she was 14, she was singing as Timi Yuro in nightclubs, although her mother disapproved and interrupted one performance by shouting, “This is your last song, young lady.” Yuro’s parents had a restaurant in Hollywood and she became their resident singer. Timi Yuro was signed to Liberty Records in late 1959, but she was not happy at being asked to record lightweight pop songs. She gatecrashed an executive meeting and threatened to tear up her contract unless she could record as she wanted. She then broke into an impassioned rendition of ‘Hurt’, which had been a rhythm and blues hit for Roy Hamilton in 1954.

Yuro lost her voice in 1980 and underwent surgery for throat cancer. Around the same time, a re-recording of ‘Hurt’ was a hit in Holland and, when she was able to sing again, she recorded two albums for the Dutch market. In 1982 Willie Nelson repaid her earlier kindness by lending her both his band and his recording studio for an album, ‘Timi Yuro – Today’, which also featured his guest vocals. She lost her voice again in 1984 and had been fighting cancer ever since.

Timi died in her sleep at her home in Las Vegas on March 30.”

01 – 1980 – All Alone Am I
02 – 1980 – You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling
03 – 1980 – Hurt
04 – 1981 – Do I Love You?
05 – 1981 – (You Are) My Special Angel
06 – 1981 – The Love of a Boy
07 – 1981 – Make the World Go Away
08 – 1981 – Hurt
09 – 1981 – What’s a Matter Baby
10 – 1983 – Complete Live Appearance




Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de WordPress.com

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de WordPress.com. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Google+ photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google+. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )


Conectando a %s

A %d blogueros les gusta esto: